An IIPM Initiative
Friday, September 24, 2021

Sri Lanka is World T20 champ


PUJA AWASTHI | Issue Dated: January 1, 1970, New Delhi
Tags : World T20 |Sri Lanka |India |Yuvraj Singh | Mahela Jayawardene | Kumar Sangakkara |

Sri Lanka won its maiden World T20 trophy, beating India by six wickets, after struggling at 78 for four in the initial stages. The blame for India’s loss was heaped on Yuvraj Singh who scored just 11 off 21 balls. The match also marked the retirement of two Sri Lankan greats-- Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara. The first scored 24, the latter an unbeaten 52. Virat Kohli hammered his fourth half century of the tournament in the final.

Rate this article:
Bad Good    
Current Rating 3.0
Next Story

Next Story

Post CommentsPost Comments

Issue Dated: Feb 5, 2017