An IIPM Initiative
Thursday, September 19, 2019

IIPM confers Vivekananda Memorial Award on Sreedharan


TSI TEAM | New Delhi, February 1, 2012 13:41
Tags : E Sreedharan | IIPM |Swami Vivekananda Memorial Award |DMRC |

To mark the 150th birth year of Swami Vivekananda, Indian Institute of Planning and Management (IIPM) on Tuesday conferred Swami Vivekananda Memorial award on former CMD of Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) E Sreedharan for his sustained sincerity towards work, his honesty and integrity.

The award carries a prize of Rs 10 lakh.

Speaking on the occasion, Sreedharan said, “I am extremely happy to receive the IIPM-Swami Vivekananda Memorial prize and I thank IIPM where I got the opportunity to associate with such a legendary man who believed in serving the society as well as individual growth. I think more than the prize it was a pleasure interacting with young students from IIPM.”

Handing over the award, IIPM founder director Dr. MK Chaudhuri remarked, “Swami Vivekananda had envisioned a modern India that would be more glorious, more rejuvenated than she ever was. To bring about the change that Swamiji spoke of, we need leaders, who would exemplify their dedication towards the nation in terms of what and how they do. E. Sreedharan epitomizes such an individual, who is not only committed to his own work but also to his nation, who respects the value and worth of time by managing complicated time-bound projects with complete honesty and integrity.”

Sreedharan’s work commitment and his expertise in managing time bound projects of national importance, like the Konkan Railways and Delhi Metro have received a lot of admiration from various quarters.

His success as the CMD of DMRC has earned him the sobriquet of the Metro Man. He has also been awarded with the Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian awards by the Government of India.

While interacting with students, the former Delhi Metro chief spoke about his experiences in the new age transport system.

Narrating an incident when he was asked by a politician to award a tender to a person known to him, he said, “The tender was awarded, but a politician at the Centre called me and asked to cancel it and give it to someone else. I refused. I said I will not and I stood by it.”

Speaking to the media on the sidelines of the award function, Sreedharan disapproved of the method adopted by Anna Hazare for a strong Lokpal Bill saying taking the government to "ransom" was unacceptable in any democracy.

Sreedharan, who pledged his support for the social activist's anti-corruption movement earlier, said legislations cannot be drafted without the participation of people's representatives.

Over the years, IIPM has instituted various awards/prizes coinciding with the institute’s philosophy of creating a greater awareness and enhanced consciousness of individuals, who have contributed extensively in their respective fields covering areas in social development, fine-art, culture, literature, among others.

Apart from the several awards given away till date by IIPM, the major awards constitute the Euro 1.1 million (approx Rs. 7 Cr) IIPM-Rabindranath Tagore International Prize. In 2011, Mr. Ramapada Chowdhury, noted Bengali novelist, was conferred with this prize.

Six foundations in memory of noted novelists were also instituted from the prize money. The Rs. 5 lac IIPM-Bharatiya Manavata Vikas Awards is yet another series of prizes given away by IIPM to recognize contributions in different social sectors.

Past recipients include Dr. Binayak Sen, Ilina Sen, Dr. Kiran Bedi, Justice V R Krishna Iyer, Medha Patkar, Mahasveta Devi among others.

Rate this article:
Bad Good    
Current Rating 4.0
Post CommentsPost Comments

Issue Dated: Feb 5, 2017